Federal Transit Administration

FTA is one of eleven modal administrations within the U.S. Department of Transportation. Headed by an Administrator who is appointed by the President of the United States, FTA functions through a Washington, DC, headquarters office and ten regional offices which assist transit agencies in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, and American Samoa. Public transportation includes buses, subways, light rail, commuter rail, monorail, passenger ferry boats, trolleys, inclined railways, and people movers. The Federal government, through the FTA, provides financial assistance to develop new transit systems and improve, maintain, and operate existing systems. FTA oversees thousands of grants to hundreds of state and local transit providers, primarily through its ten regional offices. These grantees are responsible for managing their programs in accordance with Federal requirements, and FTA is responsible for ensuring that grantees follow Federal mandates along with statutory and administrative requirements.

Contact: Andres Ramirez

Web Site: www.fta.dot.gov