Athens-Clarke County

Athens-Clarke County, an open and responsive government, will facilitate a positive environment for individuals to obtain a high quality of life and local organizations to achieve success by providing innovative, high-quality services and responsible stewardship of the community’s resources, to benefit current and future generations.  The government is headed by an elected mayor and 10 elected commissioners from 10 geographical districts.

The Unified Government of Athens-Clarke County’s day-to-day operations are overseen by a manager appointed by the mayor and commission

Contact: George Spearing